Work Experience Week!

Since last weeks post was an outfit of the day for Work Experience, I thought it’d be fun to create a post of what I got up to this past week. Mainly photos though, as I didn’t want to bore anyone.

Monday

   

 Not going to lie, Monday was by far the best day. I got to go to Head Office of Dunelm. Greatest. Experience. Ever. Not only did I go out with the buyers but I did a presentation in front of the directors. Me? I was so surprised but happy with myself for doing so. And because I stepped out of my comfort zone, I made a difference, they are going to be designing a Toulouse Desk to add to their collection and possible fairly light Christmas card holders. Oh and did I mention I stayed over in a hotel as it was a 3 hour drive? One of the highlights by the way.

Tuesday

   

 Then I spent the day in the office at one of their stores my dad manages. It was fun. Everyone was really nice but probably because I’m the boss’s daughter, but let’s just slide over that little fact. Anyways I was sat just doing some courses online which was better than school. 

Wednesday

   

I did travel to the store on this day. However, I didn’t spend much time in it. I went out with a stylist as part of the ‘Dunelm at home’ service. Basically they go out to people (usually ones who have beautiful homes) and fit curtains. To be fair I thought this was going to be boring. But it was far from this, who wouldn’t want to see and look around beautiful houses and help the customer decide on the best fabric? I for one enjoyed the experience. And the people I were with were so lovely and I had so much in common with them. 

Thursday

   

      So I did go out with the stylist today but they didn’t have appointments all day so for the majority of the afternoon I was on the shop floor. Which was fine. I loved having a look at all the different products and of course giving constructive criticism to my Dad. However, as much as I loved the experience of being on the shop floor, I realised how I would never like to end up there. I just think I could and would want to do better. (Preferably in the head office haha)

Friday

   

      Friday was good, spent it in the office at the store again. Although this time it was a lot more fun. This sounds awful but my dad was ill so I felt like manager for the day. I suppose to feel like that I would have had to actually done some ‘hard graft’ as my Dad likes to call it, but I didn’t really. Hence the first photo. The rest of the photos was cute stock that was in, that I just had to take a picture of. Anyways, I did do work, it seemed a bit pointless but I still completed it nonetheless. 

It’s come to the end of the post. I apologise for having text even though I said I didn’t want to bore you with it, ah well never mind. I did enjoy this week and I’m not really looking forward to going back to school. (2 weeks left though!) I can just picture myself in the world of work and I can’t wait. I can see the side of ‘working too many hours blah blah’ but if you love what you do surely you would never have to work a day in your life.

Just before I end, one thing this week has taught me is that to be happy you don’t have to be the highest paid or have the highest salary you just have to love what you do. And that’s what I’m aiming for. Sorry cringey I know, until next time..

Catch me on Twitter- @sophi15samantha

Sophie

X

5 thoughts on “Work Experience Week!

Leave a Reply

