Sophie’s Summer Book Club #2

Accidentally, I haven’t put up one of these posts since June. That’s only because I’ve had so many other blog posts I’ve wanted to do. So anyways, here’s the books I’ve enjoyed…

img_0023Honestly, I read this book quite a while ago, just before Summer actually, but I couldn’t not talk about how amazing ‘All the Bright Places’ is by Jennifer Niven. If you didn’t know its about two people who grow close, however, one of them wants to take their own life (promise it isn’t a spoiler it says so on the back of the book). I fell in love with the characters, the way Jennifer Niven writes, rating it 9/10. I can’t wait to get my hands on her new book ‘Holding up the Universe’.

img_0028I’d never usually read a book like this as I’m more of a fictional-kind-of-a-gal. But I did really enjoy it, it really opened my eyes to the different cultures. At first, I thought it might be a bit offensive, although once I started reading I realised that’s not the intention at all. It’s all about a British guy living in France writing about the differences he’s noticed compared to living in England. This book was super informative and even made me laugh in parts. As someone, who wants to have a deeper knowledge of the French language it was fun to read up on life there. I would rate ‘A certain Je ne sais Quoi’ by Charles Timoney 7/10.

img_0025The layout of this book is completely different to anything I’ve seen before and I strangely love it. I read this book a couple years ago and decided to read it again (something I rarely do). It only took me a couple of hours to read because it is in note form but I wouldn’t let that put you off. I would rate ‘Life on the Refrigerator Door’ by Alice Kuipers 8/10 as it really highlights the importance of family and remembering to spend time with them as you never know what might change.

Hope you enjoyed this post, writing this has reminded me just how much I love talking about what I’ve been reading. Comment if you’ve read any of these or what book you think I should read next. See you soon.

Love, Sophie

X

img_7247-1

About Me

8 thoughts on “Sophie’s Summer Book Club #2

  1. Notyourclassroom says:

    I love hearing about what people read! I added all these to my list, but I think I’ll check out All the broken things first! A book I’d recommend is Tuesday’s with Moreie, it honestly changed my whole perspective of life!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. mylifendthoughts says:

    life on the refrigerator door sounds really interesting I love books with different layouts so I might give it a go, also I’ve heard so many good things about all the bright places I must read it!! thanks for the suggestions x

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

