Summer Baking 

Going completely off topic from this post but I get my GCSE Results tomorrow and I couldn’t be more nervous. If I’ve felt happy today than I think ‘why should I be if I haven’t done well tomorrow?’. My parents have been so supportive and know I’ve tried my best so they said they’ll be happy no matter the outcome. Whereas I’ll be disappointed if say I haven’t passed anything. Anyways enough of me worrying. 

A while ago, I did a Spring Baking where I did 3 different recipes. So I decided to do it again…

Peanut Butter Squares

I have to admit I don’t like Peanut Butter but they were so cute that I had to try them. They did taste really nice though, I think it’s the chocolate that made the recipe. 

Ingredients:

150g butter

200g milk chocolate 

250g of Digestive biscuits

200g brown sugar

300g peanut butter

1 tsp vanilla extract 

To start, line a baking tray with grease proof paper (this helps when taking the peanut butter squares out). Put the butter in a large pan and melt it on a low heat. Remove the pan off the heat once butter has melted. Next, move onto melting the Chocolate, whether that’s over a pan of boiling water or in the microwave for 30 second bursts. Then I put the biscuits and sugar into a food bag, got a rolling pin and smashed it into crumbs. If you ask me, it’s great if you have some anger that needs releasing. Next, tip the biscuit and brown sugar crumbs, peanut butter and vanilla extract into the pan with the butter. And MIX! Tip mixture into the tin and squash down. Then place the melted chocolate over the top and refrigerate for at least an hour. 


White Chocolate Drizzled Flapjack 

Alright, so it doesn’t look amazing. But that’s only because of my decorating skills. But trust me, it tastes really nice. 

Ingredients

125g butter

125g brown sugar

4 tablespoons of golden syrup 

250g porridge oats

100g White Chocolate

Preheat the oven to 180 degrees/Gas mark 4. Melt the butter over a low heat and add the golden syrup and sugar. Remove from the heat when everything is melted and the sugar is dissolved. Stir in the porridge oats. Put the flapjack mixture into a baking tin and squash down. I found a metal spoon really helps to achieve this. Finally bake for 20 minutes. 

To finish, I melted some white chocolate in the microwave and tried (and failed) to drizzle it over the flapjack once cooled.


Strawberry Cakes 

I made these this morning but they sunk in the oven, maybe too much rising agent. Anyways, tried again (just for this post) and they worked out much better. I love these, seriously, so much. I may, or may not be devouring one right now.

Ingredients

250g butter

250g caster sugar

5 medium eggs

250g self-raising flour 

1tsp baking powder

Pinch of salt

Couple drops of vanilla extract

300 ml double or whipping cream

50g icing sugar

Strawberries

Preheat oven to 180 degrees/Gas mark 4. Make sure to have paper cases lined ready for the mixture later. For the sponge, put the butter in a bowl making sure it’s soft. Add the sugar and mix together. Then adding the eggs and this is where I had to beat the whole thing crazily for a couple of minutes. Add the flour, baking powder, salt and vanilla extract and stir well. Then put the mixture evenly into the different cases and put in the oven for 25 minutes. 

Once cooled, I made the mixture that goes on top. This was the cream, vanilla extract and icing sugar all mixed together. I also added a bit of food colouring to make it pink, because who doesn’t like pink? Obviously putting that on top of the cakes and putting the strawberries on top of that. 


Hope you enjoyed this post, I love baking even though this took a little while to make all of it. Comment what you’ve been baking recently or would like to soon. Wish me luck for tomorrow and my results. See you soon.

Love, Sophie 

X

About Me

24 thoughts on “Summer Baking 

  1. Notyourclassroom says:

    OKAY THESE LOOK SO GOOD. I’m veerry excited to make (and eat) them! Also, good luck with getting your results back tomorrow 🙂 Im sure you’ll do amazing! Just have a really relaxing night, watch a movie, take a bath, read, eat, etc :)))

    Liked by 1 person

  2. witchspotion says:

    Hey . I have planned on starting a bake off a way to collab with different bloggers on a weekly basis. Would you like to become a part of this collab . It’s a great way to spread word about you blog and to get more readers to read you post.
    If you accept I will send you the details.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

