August Favourites 2016

The time has come round once again to write a favourites post and I’m really beginning to wonder where the days are going. Like seriously take me back to the start of Summer when I wasn’t worrying about College starting.

Anyways, it took me a while to think about what I’ve been loving this month as I have just been having a really laid back, do nothing kind of time. But here is what I came up with…

1. My Phone

This seems like such a basic favourite. However, this month my new phone came and I was very excited. I’d basically been using a cracked, bad Wi-Fi connection phone for too long and I was desperate for my contract to end. Now I may have already dropped my new one already, but apart from that I haven’t really put it down, that’s why it’s a definite favourite.

2. L’Oréal True Match Foundation

At first, I have to admit whenever I used this I just craved the Bourjois Healthy Mix Serum. But when I realised I was stuck with it (I’m cheap ok? I like to finish products) I knew I had to just go with it. BEST DECISION EVER. I found I just had to keep working with it to get the overall look I wanted. This blends like a dream. It’s probably my main reason for loving it; because of its blend-ability (that a word? probably not.)

3. Tresemme Hair

Currently, I am liking switching up my hair care to see what works best. This month I purchased these (mainly because they were on sale at boots, oops, told you I was cheap) because I wanted to see if the well known brand lived up to my standards. And it most certainly did. I love the scent. I love the how long my hair stays fresh for. I just love the results. Also, whoever thought of the condition first, shampoo second, YOU’RE GENIUS.

4. ‘Closer’ by the Chainsmokers feat. Halsey.

As soon as I heard this song I knew it would end up in my favourites post. It’s just so catchy and I’m also loving the Chainsmokers in general right now.

5. Movies

What can I say, the weather in the U.K hasn’t exactly been glorious sun everyday. Although, I’m starting to think there’s some sort of permanent cloud over where I live. Anyways, a few days this month, I’ve had to search for my favourite movies to watch. This time I reached for ‘Mean Girls’, which my Mum watched for the first time and loved. I mean who wouldn’t? Another I picked was ‘Wild Child’. Both movies I obsess over. Finally, one I watched the other night for the first time  was ’10 things I hate about you’ and to be honest I snapchatted people after I watched it and I just felt really late to the party. Never mind, it was amazing.

6. My Results

This was definitely a highlight to my month. If you haven’t seen my Results post then feel free to read it after this. But it just made me so happy because it really did finally end an era for me (you know, secondary school.)

7. The Schemer.

In no way is this my type of book but I started reading it because my Mum suggested me to when she was only half way through it. In less than 24 hours I had finished the book. My Mum had given up trying to read it because I wouldn’t give it back until I’d finished and it was probably for the best that my Mum let me tell her what happened otherwise I would have exploded. Basically, don’t know which character I despised more. But it keeps you on your toes because you want to know a) what happens and b) if they all get revenge. It was honestly so intense compared to what I usually read and I just wish there was a sequel.

8. Black Bardot Top

It seems these are definitely on trend at the minute. I know mine isn’t exactly a summery colour but it’s not as if it’s actually been nice enough that I look weird to be in black. Anyways, this is so comfortable and I personally think it suits me, I could be wrong. I  believe that even through the colder months I’ll still wear this and just have cold shoulders, why not?

9. L’Oréal Infallible Sculpt Contour Kit

I could have quite easily mentioned this already in  favourites post if not I’ve certainly spoke highly of this product on my blog somewhere. I love this so much. It’s definitely helped make sure I don’t look like a mess when I’d just started contouring. And now I wear it whenever I’m having a makeup day. I love the creamy consistency, this also helps it blend really well also.

10. Independence, Kind of?

This is one of my weird favourites. But this month, I’ve found myself pushing myself out of my comfort zone a lot more. You’ll probably read this and think ‘I do that everyday’. So from simple things to talking on the phone to someone I don’t know, or ordering drinks at Costa. These are all non-big-deal things, but to me I’m feeling happy with myself that I’ve managed to do. On Saturday, I’m going to get my hair done, ON MY OWN. For me, that’s new and something I’m not used to. This is definitely a weird favourite. But we all have things that we have to step out of our comfort zone for, mine are just smaller. And by doing them more, they’ll just become mundane everyday tasks. This month, I realised I’m starting to do the small things for myself and I actually kind of like it…

Hope you enjoyed this blog post. I love not only writing favourites posts but reading them too. So comment down below some of your favourites or if you’ve posted one then link it so I can give it a read. Also, I’m nearing 400 followers (currently at 380) which is insane, so thank you. See you soon.

Love, Sophie

X

About Me

12 thoughts on “August Favourites 2016

Leave a Reply

