DIY: Fabric Flowers

My first Design project at College, has been to get creative with a shoe. I’ve resorted to my shoe becoming a plant pot so I can fill it with flowers. I guess I was a bit naïve because I just bought fake flowers and then realised I should actually be making most of these. 

Firstly, I had no idea it would take so long so I’ve literally just made two. So clearly we all know what I’ll be up to in the next couple of days. Anyways, I hope my instructions aren’t too confusing…

It was taking me so long to find ideas on how to make these with minimal equipment because personally, I don’t have a glue gun lying around. 

Things you will need:

  • Material – I only had really flimsy material but that didn’t seem to be a problem.
  • Ruler
  • Pencil
  • Scissors
  • Needle
  • Thread
  • Piece of card- or just anything you can use as a template.

Next, I made the template, the diameter of the circle needs to be around 7.3cm. At first, I was really worry about the shape of the circle, but it really doesn’t matter because you can’t tell.

Then you need your material to cut out the circles using the template you’ve just made. You need to cut out 16, when I started I thought it would take me forever. However, you soon get a routine and before you know it you have them all laid out in front of you.

Here’s where the flower making really starts. Don’t worry, it doesn’t get too tricky, if it did I would have no chance making these. So all you do is fold over one of your circles to begin with.

Here’s where if my explaining isn’t good then you’ll probably be left confused. In this step you need a needle and thread. Tie a tiny knot (that’s probably not the right term) in your thread so you can’t just pull it straight through. Now you need to weave it through the fabric. However, you’re going along the curved line only. 
Then you pull the piece of fabric down to the bottom of the thread. And you start again with another circle. 

Personally, I added 8 circles to one. To finish it off I put the needle through the first one I started with. To make a kind of loop. So the last one and the first one join together. Then I start again, I made another flower with 5 circles and one with 3. But this is where you can be as creative as you’d like to be.

 I still need to add a gem or sequin to mine but these were the finished products. You can always layer them up like this…

You could put all three together, but I didn’t think to do that when I was taking this picture. 

And if all else fails…

Do what I did in the first place and buy fake ones.
Hope you enjoyed this blog post. As I am trying to make more flowers, I will be trying out different styles so if I find a better one I’ll put together another post. Also, I do apologise for the background of these pictures, I forgot to take pictures in natural daylight so I had to use my lamp. And finally, if any of my instructions didn’t make sense please feel free to correct me or comment anything I might have confused you about. See you soon.

Love, Sophie

X

About Me

8 thoughts on “DIY: Fabric Flowers

Leave a Reply

