Taking Time Out For Yourself

Last weekend, I had the pleasure of having nothing to do, that’s right NOTHING. It was a great change and a massive contrast to how busy I’ve been these past couple of days. However, it did make me realise the importance of having that time to yourself, doing something you enjoy, even if it is just for 20 minutes. But I thought I’d share my Top 10 activities, to possibly give you some slight inspiration if you’re struggling to relax.

1. Exercise

I am not the gal that goes for a run- under any circumstances. Although, I do enjoy following Blogilates videos because I can do it in the comfort of my own home, therefore having no excuses not to do it. Also, I’ve always loved Yoga as its really not just about your physical state but the mental being as well. My favourite being Yoga with Adriene.

img_1499

2. Listen to Music

I try to listen to music as much as possible, which could quite possibly be a bad thing so maybe I don’t advise this. Although, its a crazily good stress reliever to just blast music, whilst singing along. Next week, I’ll be posting my January favourites so I’ll make sure to include the songs I’ve been loving.

3. Blog

For me, blogging is purely a hobby. So its definitely something I do if I have the extra time on my hands. Even if I don’t have the time, I’ll make time as its one of the few things I’m passionate about.

img_0539

4. Take a walk

Similar to exercise, but this time the focus is getting some fresh air. Now, I take regular walks with my dog, Alfie. For some reason, I think getting out makes me so much more motivated when I get home. Maybe it is just the fresh (albeit freezing) air that gives me a clearer mind set.

5. Read a Book

According to the February issue of Glamour, reading for 6 minutes can reduce stress by 68%. Personally, I know I don’t read as much as I should and since getting quite a collection of books for Christmas, I have no excuse. All it takes is 10 minutes out of my day, easy right?

img_15006. Paint your Nails

Admittedly, I rarely have the patience to sit and paint my nails. If you’re the same then you can switch this up and put a facemask on. Which is what I’m going to do once I’ve finished this post.

7. Re-organise your Space

Whether this is your work space, your bedroom or just your house in general. Sometimes, I can’t think of anything better than having a good clear out. Getting rid of the stuff I don’t need and rearranging the things I need to keep.

img_1502

8. Cook

There’s nothing better than a home cooked meal. Taking the time out to prepare everything and then having the joy when you take something like this pie out of the oven. Which by the way, tasted delicious!

9. Hot Bubble Bath

Everyday, I make it routine to have a soak in the bath tub. Mainly because its the one thing I can do which immediately relaxes me and settles me for the evening. Just 20 minutes of having time to yourself can really make the difference.

img_1501

10. Eat Healthy

This may sound confusing because if you want time to yourself and to relax. You’re probably thinking about relaxing with a chocolate bar (or is that just me, k.) But recently, I’ve been making smoothies everyday and it gives me so much more energy to do these things for myself.

Hope you enjoyed this blog post. It seemed to take me 173462x longer than it usually would have because Lady and the Tramp has been playing in the background. And I haven’t seen it in YEARS. Beside the point, so excited to be so into blogging at the moment. See you soon.

Love, Sophie

X

img_0088-4

About Me

9 thoughts on “Taking Time Out For Yourself

Leave a Reply

