The Start of Spring Baking 2017

I really had no clue what to call this post. But for a Wednesday Evening I fancied sharing what I baked at the weekend; Blueberry Muffins and a Banana Loaf! Heres how they turned out…

Blueberry Muffins

IMG_2094

Granted they don’t look the best, but they tasted good. I think my problem was I didn’t put enough mixture into the cases and I didn’t even the mixture out but never mind. Maybe if any of you follow this recipe, you’ll do a better job.

Ingredients:

  • 100g Butter
  • 60g Caster Sugar
  • 2 Eggs
  • 100g Flour
  • 1 tsp Baking Powder
  • Pinch Nutmeg
  • 120g Frozen Blueberries

WARNING: You have to leave the mixture overnight, so maybe plan ahead. Anyways, mix together the butter and sugar, add the eggs, and mix until it looks like a good mixture??? I don’t know maybe just take a guess at this stage… well done Sophie, clearly a master chef. Moving on, you then add the flour, baking powder and nutmeg, making sure its all combined (finally thought of a better word). This is where you now leave it over night in a refrigerator.

Next, (once you’ve left it over night of course) you place a spoonful of mixture into each muffin case to about half way. Then you stuff each muffin with as many blueberries as you’d like (but maybe like 6 maximum).

Finally, (yesss its getting closer to eating them) you bake them in the oven that needs to be set at Gas Mark 6/400F/200C for 20 minutes. I’d use that as a guideline but I basically took them out when they’re that golden colour and it looked like I won’t be poisoning myself or anyone else willing to try one.

IMG_2095

 Banana Loaf

IMG_2107

Ingredients:

  • 130g Butter
  • 130g Caster Sugar
  • 2 Eggs
  • 130g Self Raising Flour
  • 2 Bananas
  • 1 tsp Baking Powder

First things first, butter whatever tin you want to use for this banana thing and put some of the baking parchment in, so its easy to lift the banana loaf out, once its out of the oven. I.e so you have less time before you get to eat it. Also, you might want to heat the oven to Gas Mark 4/160C FAN/180C, before you start the mixture.

Next, you need to mix together the butter and sugar, until its light, I’d say and fluffy but I never think that’s the right adjective. Then add the eggs gradually and add a little flour while you’re at it. Then throw in the rest of the flour, (but maybe not literally cause that stuff gets messy) baking powder and bananas (which have to be mashed). Pour it into the tin of your choice and bake for half an hour until a knife comes out clean. Although I don’t know why you’d have a knife in your loaf…

Finally, you’re done, just make sure to let it cool otherwise you’ll burn your tongue. Trust me, I’ve been there, you can’t taste anything for days.

IMG_2108

Hope you enjoyed this blog post. Sorry for my use of vocabulary during the recipes when it may be more helpful if its a bit more formal, I just thought that it makes it more ‘me’ and maybe a bit more interesting. See you soon.

Love, Sophie

X


About Me

12 thoughts on “The Start of Spring Baking 2017

  1. hannahcole93 says:

    These look super tasty! 😀 I can’t wait to be able to bake again when I’m home! Wonder why you had to leave the muffin mix overnight? I’ve heard of biscuit recipes to leave overnight but never cake mix 🙈

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

