Sophie’s Book Club #6

Ooops I may have said I was back to being fully committed to blogging but then didn’t post for over a week. But I’ve now got a list of blog posts I could do that would take me up to December, soooo I’m thinking I’m organised again.

Anyways, when I was on Holiday, I managed to read two books that I thought would be perfect to put into my book club series…

IMG_3649The first book I read was ‘Every Day’ by David Levithan. It’s about a character called ‘A’ who wakes up in a different body everyday. He doesn’t know who it will be but he already knows how to handle it; to not get too attached and to leave things as they were. Until he wakes up in a body who has a girlfriend; Rhiannon. Someone that A wants to spend more than one day with.

This book is definitely unique. It pulled on the heart strings because he couldn’t just lead a normal life but at the same time I felt immense empathy for the other characters in the book. Whilst I loved the ending of this, it’s definitely not one you’d expect, I was also left with so many questions…How does this soul/spirit/body changing happen? Why does it happen? Surely he must have a body of his own to return to? I guess that’s just the joy of reading and it can be left to your imagination. Overall, I would recommend this book to anyone, and its definitely one that would spark a discussion, at least it did with my Mum and I.

 

IMG_3648The next book I read was ‘Ten Big Ones’ by Janet Evanovich. It’s about Stephanie Plum, a bounty hunter, who’s next on a local gangs hit list. She’s out to find a ruthless killer, before he finds her first.

I don’t end up reading these types of books very often because they seem so hard to find. But I love how light hearted it was and after urging my Mum to read this too, she also agreed. It had us both in laughter, with both of our favourite characters being the Grandma. I found the Stephanie very relatable, because we all have times when everything seems to be going wrong. I would 100% recommend this book, it was such a great read.

Once again I don’t think I’ve done these books any justice. But let me know what you’ve been reading recently.

Love, Sophie

X


About Me

23 thoughts on “Sophie’s Book Club #6

Leave a Reply

